Leon Bridges, Jackson Browne and Brittany Howard top this week’s new releases



CLEVELAND, Ohio – Both old (Jackson Browne, David Crosby, Rodney Crowell) and relatively new (Leon Bridges, Brittany Howard) singer-songwriters stand out among this week’s new music releases (all subject to change ) …

Album of the week: Versatile Leon Bridges is back with his third album, “Gold-Diggers Sound,” working again with co-producer Ricky Reed and guest appearances by Robert Glasper, Terrace Martin and Ink. Among his 11 tracks is “Sweeter,” which Bridges wrote after the murder of George Floyd last year in Minneapolis and performed at the Democratic National Convention.

Album title of the week: Dave, “We’re all alone in this set” (Dave / Neighborhood)

Did you know ? : Digitally released in April, “McCartney III Imagined” (Capitol) – featuring songs from Paul McCartney’s latest solo album performed by Beck, St. Vincent, Phoebe Bridgers and others – is finally coming out physically this week.

New and remarkable:

Jackson Browne, “Downhill From Everywhere” (Inside Recordings)

David Crosby, “Free” (BMG)

Rodney Crowell, “Triage” (RC1 / Trente Tigres)

Brittany Howard / Various artists, “Jaime Reimagined” (ATO)

Christone “Kingfish” Ingram, “662” (Alligator)

Ledisi, “Ledisi Sings Nina” (Listen / BMG)

Somi, “Zenzile: The Reimagination of Miriam Makeba” (Salon Africana)

Kanye West, “Donda” (Def Jam)

Hot New Singles: Camila Cabello, “Don’t go there yet”; CNCO, “To’a La Noche”; Lorde, “Stoned at the Nail Salon”; Coldplay, “Colorature”; Scotty McCreery, “Why You Have To Be Like This”; MC Roads, “Smile Like a Knife”; Normadi, “Wild Side” with Cardi B.; Trippie Redd, “Holy Smokes” with Lil Uzi Vert; Jeff Schroeder, “Haenim”; Shakira, “Don’t wait”; Mafia from the Swedish house, “It’s getting better”; We came as Romans, “Darkbloom”; Andrew WK, “Everybody Sins”

Also available :

Alexander Jean, “Coming Down” (parts and labor)

Ann-Marie, “Therapy” (Major Toms / Asylum)

You bastards, “Delete. Repeat.” (Redacted / SilverDoor)

BARDO, “Everywhere reminds me of space” (Yemaya Sol)

Dierks Bentley, “Live From Telluride” (Capitol Nashville)

the black watch “Led Zeppelin Five” (ATOM)

The Brothers, “March 10, 2020 / Madison Square Garden, New York NY” (Peach / The Orchard)

Molly Burch, “Romantic Pictures” (Captured Tracks)

Capstan, “Separated” (Intrepid)

Dark Side, “” Spiral “(Matador)

Descendants, “9th and walnut” (epitaph)

Emily Duff, “Razor Blade Smile” (Mr. Mudshow Music)

Youth gang, “Total Serene” (Warner)

Heavy water, “Red Brick City” (Silver Linings)

Hobbs Sisters, “Turn It Up” (self-published)

Joshua James, “Ten Thousand Hours” (Damonoway Limited)

Giants of the Jungle, “LoveSigns” (Music by Amplifire)

Jose Junior, “Y No Soy Marinero” (self-published)

King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard, “Butterfly 3000” (KGLW)

Marzy Maddox, “Cooper Oaks” (self-published)

Yngwie Malmsteen, “Parrabelum” (Musical Theories / Mascot)

John McTigue III, “It Was About Time” (MC3)

Clay Melton, “Back to Blues” (self-produced)

Deb Nevers, “Where Have All the Flowers Gone?” (self-published)

Nothing But Thieves, “Mortal Panic II” (RCA)

Senri Oe, “Letter to NY” (PND / Sony Masterworks)

Ora the molecule, “Human Safari” (Mute)

Andy Partridge, “My Failed Songwriting Career” (Ape House)

Piroshka, “Love Flows and Gathers” (Bella Union)

Pony hunting, “Vari” (Wing and Wing)

Joshua Radin, “The Ghost and the Wall” (Nettwerk)

CJ Ray, “For the Other” (self-edited)

Kris Rodgers, “Always Dirty” (Wicked Cool)

Samia, “Scout” (Grand Jury)

Van Scott, “Almost Gone” (AWAL / Oat Brand Music)

Sleep Waker, “Alias” (UNFD)

Tantric, “The Sum of All Things” (Cleopatra)

Gavin Turek, “Madame Gold” (self-published)

Young Bleu, “Moon Boy” (Vandross Music Group / Empire)

From the vaults:

Glen Campbell, “Live from the troubadour” (Big Machine)

Dear Mr. Time, “Grandpa: The Dear Mr. Time Anthology” (Grapefruit / Cherry Red)

Dream Theater, “Lost Not Forgotten Archives: A Dramatic Tour of Events – Select Board Mixes” (InsideOutMusic)

Bernard Herrmann, “The film scores of Bernard Herrmann” (Deutsche Grammophon)

Lissie, “Watch Over Me (Early Works 2002-2009)” (Lionboy / Cooking Vinyl)

Madness, “Absolutely” (Union Square)

Mudhoney, “Every Good Boy Deserves Fudge (30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)” (Sub Pop)

Spice Girls, “Wannabe25” (Virgo / UMe)

Stone Temple Pilots, “Tiny Music … Songs From the Vatican Gift Shop: 25th Anniversary Edition” (Rhino / Atlantique)

Sun Ra, “Lanquidity (Definitive Edition)” (Strut)

2Pac, “Until the end of time” (Interscope / UMe)

Leslie Winer, “When I hit you – you will feel it” (Light in the attic)

On video:

Carrie Underwood, “My Savior: LIVE From the Ryman” (Capitol Christian Music Group / Universal)



Leave A Reply